Salt

Grief is pouring out of me
unexpectedly violent, suddenly indecent

assault tempts me to die, stealing whatever else you left behind

my soul, violated

shredded skin, giving away my heart for safety

killing her off slowly

and I can’t bear it any longer – this pain

consumes me, squeezing every last breath I take

to want nondescript now; everything I had left with you

totally and utterly forlorn, I am bereft of any life, when you said
you loved me – that was an evil lie

there is no faith left in my world when I think of you

I am foetal, cradled in my own embryonic arms

closing bloodshot eyes

for darkness to caress my fetid skin, sinking in

lost; longing for you in vain, my grief is pouring out of me

and it won’t stop – I can’t make you stop

broken, and excrutiating to remember

you abandoned me, destroying everything I thought I meant to you

and the salt, knowing you’re laughing – telling how you want torture

before dismembering my body for a barrel

some days the grief is so bad I want to die, check

my self in to the nearest vein before I slice my way in – till I can’t feel you anymore

and watch my self disappear.


© Copyright 2016, Jodine Derena Butler & Poetry Out West. All Rights Reserved

Imaginary

13 thoughts on “Salt

  1. Pingback: Author Interview – Charley Daveler – Stories of the Wyrd (Sci-Fi/Fantasy) | toofulltowrite (I've started so I'll finish)

  2. It hurts to know you feel like that. Betrayal is the worse heartbreaking act anyone can suffer. I can relate to your pain now. I know, it feels like a corkscrew to your heart. I like the way you express the killing pain and deception when deceived. I can easily relate to it when you say “destroying everything I thought I meant to you”

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment