My Dublin Leprechaun 

Photos by me, Jodine Derena Butler, 2017


I landed in old Dublin town not far from Temple Bar

I found me seat beside the barman, drinking apple cider

My leprechaun he raised his eyebrows, looked at me and sang a smile

He strummed his guitar, tapped his feet and I was left my heart on fire

For I had lost my Ireland, Dublin calling me back home

I landed in old Dublin town not far from Temple bar

I found my seat beside the barman, drinking apple cider

A pint or three? he said to me, I laughed and clapped and danced a jig

He sang to me in Gaelic land and I held my Johnny’s strumming hand

And so it was, the cider flowed, and we were left beside us

I landed in old Dublin town not far from Temple Bar

I found my seat beside the barman, drinking apple cider

We made our way to Clontarf castle, almost tripping over feet

Now it could be said, of what he did, that roseyed my cold cheeks in bed…

My Dublin Leprechaun beside me, crying in his arms he held me

He found me in old Dublin town, not far from Temple Bar

On my seat beside the barman, drinking apple cider

My Dublin leprechaun he found me, and to this day he will remind me

I came home that Temple Bar, he sang to me and stole my heart…

The Temple Bar Pub


© Copyright 2017, Jodine Derena Butler & ‘Poetry Out West’, All Rights Reserved

Brassy
Version 2
I crossed the sea by winged plane

I landed in old Dublin town

I found my way to Temple Bar

Wth ruined roads a shambles
My Leprechaun was singing pretty
He sung to me of Dublin city

Fair lad and lass, love and loss

I felt my heart was heavy
I landed in old Dublin town

I found my way to Temple Bar

My ancestry lost long ago

Stories told me not remembered
My irish Leprechaun he told me

Some fair things are best forgotten

So I danced a jig to my long lost relies

And raised my glass of cider
 I found myself in dublin city no Guinness factory

I raised my glass in Temple Bar

My Irish Leprechaun reminds me

Down at Temple Bar

I found myself in dublin town

Down at Temple Bar

My Leprechaun was a playin

I danced a jig for my long lost relies

I raised my glass of cider

And that was me, you see

I found myself in dublin city

Temple bar a clappin
One two three four times

I danced a jig for my long lost relies 

Raised a jug to cider happy

Oh to be in Irish land

My irish Leprechaun held my hand

Oh my bonny lass

6 thoughts on “My Dublin Leprechaun 

  1. Sweet and beautiful song poem. (Or a sung poem) When I was younger, I loved all the Irish stuff, the celtic culture, music, traditions, the beauty of that Island, because spanish people share some celtic roots and the catholic religion with people from Ireland. By the way, my friend Félix told me he would like to travel to Dublin with his daughter. I hope your visit at La Roda Groga was comfortable and delicious for you. Félix told me that he met you there but he felt sorry because he couldn’ t talk to you all the time he wanted to, cause he had to cook. Next time. Enjoy your tour around Europe and the countries of your ancestors. See you soon, I wish.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you Juanma! It would have been better if you were also there. Your friend Felix was a wonderful host! Be sale was simply stunning! I haven’t yet written about Spain or Scotland. I found my roots there. I have Spanish ancestry too but have to make some more enquiries. Check out my Twilight poem if you have time. I wish I could understand Spanish…

      Like

    • Do it! Its beautiful! My maternal forefather was Irish, but he stowed away to NZ and changed his name to Smith lol, so I will never know but I did find my Scottish ancestors and have pics of their Graves… I haven’t written that one yet 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

