Malady Peg

image

Artist: Unknown

You build a picture of me
outside the elongated square –
peg shaped box
I find myself circling

each single step
widens following
two side steps lengthening
nearly five decades deep

before I’m back in the shit
standing in front of the same scale
stained window or solid Oak door
or Samsung S4

my self imposed barricade
chain and key close
to my heart safe, keep
trusting no one

except a chain gang
of miscreants and misfits
mulling over life just right
subliminal messages

only those in the know can
decipher wisdom in code, words
biting off more than we can chew
at times, like these

you help build a picture of me
outside the elongated square –
peg shaped box
I find myself picking apart

with my fingernails, prying
into cracks like an un
suspecting little upstart
who has everything and nothing

we are social creatures
by nature, nurture featuring ways
to stray outside our four walls
where I space out

dependent distance, my avoidance
keeps my heart still beating
any attempt to heal, an affront
my demons wreck havoc

threaten to cut me off at the knee’s
if I don’t conform or dance
to the Pipers tune. my malady
freaks the Hell out of everyone

torture held captive

you are a picture of my self
outside my elongated square –
peg shape box, my reason
to die respectfully

circumnavigating
ways through and around,
bashing my head up
against invisible walls

that thwart my existence
here, questions unanswered
philosophical paradoxical paradigm s;
the meaning of life and death

I want to go home,
listen to the ebb and flow
of waves, seagulls and sand
crunching between my toes

and decide if I want to live.

© Copyright 2016, Jodine Derena Butler & ‘Poetry Out West’.  All Rights Reserved

15 thoughts on “Malady Peg

  1. Pingback: Featured Bloggers 1/15/16: Networking 101 | Dream Big, Dream Often

  2. Reblogged this on Drem and commented:
    An interesting poem by my friend, Jodine.
    I convinced her to post this. Don’t be afraid to show your dark side!
    Self expression through art of any kind is nothing to be ashamed of!

    xoxo
    Drem

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you Drem but this poem is a lot dark and I worry it could be misconstrued by others… it’s scary putting my poetry out sometimes…you never know who is reading and what they are thinking…or whether something can be used against you in a court of law. I’m a bit paranoid of stalkers… Jx

      Like

Leave a Reply

