Billy off the Grid

image

Jean François Millet
‘Shepherdess with her Flock’

I’d be content
I think, maybe
if I put one
of those solar
thingy’s on the roof,
and grow my own
medication
in between the
herbs and gourmet
spuds. I could
collect rain water,
filtered by cheese –
cloth, milk
a Capricorn goat
and call her Billy
Bold tethered
to a tree on a long
line. I would have
to buy a ham – mock
and mosquito net
but first I’d have
to settle it all up,
let it go
to the highest bid –
ders, then look
around off the beaten
track for somewhere
remote, outback
with at least a well –
spring for summer;
when it all dies
and I’m left
looking at the goat,
licking my mutton
chops wishing
for a pork, cracking
open a Veuve. I’d do it
and serve up a con –
coction of hysteria
only fit for the loony
bin – laden. I would
laugh at the irony
of having nothing
and no – one to
complain about, ex –
cept who I was
before I decided
to go off grid; fate
leading me astray
after yet another
furious outburst of
solipsism. cynicism
better left
with no one
to witness my de –
mise, except for
Billy Bold
in my bed
keeping me awake,
chewing the fat.

Billy Bold – Graham Brazier (Hello Sailor)

© Copyright 2016, Jodine Derena Butler & ‘Poetry Out West’.  All Rights Reserved

Radiate

28 thoughts on “Billy off the Grid

  1. Hi,
    Dream inspired?! Cool! When I was younger I tried to document my dreams since I always remembered them, and still usually do.
    I met you on Danny Ray’s site. Congratulations on being his featured blogger! I was his featured blogger too! Perhaps you’ll check out my blog especially if you could use a blogging tip or two; that what I blog about.
    Janice

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Pingback: Featured Bloggers 1/6/16: Networking 101 | Dream Big, Dream Often

    • Thank you Danny. Did you post this particular poem? Could I have the link please? I’m going through all my comments one post at a time and finding so many great comments! Jx

      Like

Leave a Reply

