Snapshot

image

Photographer: _foto_in_vivo
‘Metamorphosis’

Because you pushed
Me away
You said
Looking in, forgetting
Conveniently what
Snapped at me
Before
And I asked you
Not to talk to me
That way

I’m afraid
It will become
A daily occurrence
Because you don’t
Respect me
Enough to treat
Me with love
And kindness

I watched you treat
Your mother
With contempt
Before
But maybe
You’ve found someone
Else to take
The blame
For your anger
And pain

Where do we fit
In to the grand
Scheme of things?
Marriage
A family
A home
A lover
A friend
Is it all to be
For nothing less
Than another
End?

I know you are hurt
In chronic pain
Everyday
I watch you
Pacing, shifting
Moving, frustrated
And bored
You can’t
Or won’t settle
And you distance
Yourself
Defensive over
Nothing
I can do for you

How can you find love?
When fear
Is driving you
To lash out
At me
Only me
When I love you
And I can’t do anything
To fix this
Torture and
Torment

Let it go
Softness is strength
Tears are healing
Together we can
Learn to trust
And fall in love
Again

‘Hurt’ by Johnny Cash (Nine Inch Nails)

© Copyright 2015, Jodine Derena Butler & ‘Poetry Out West’.  All Rights Reserved

Collaboration

11 thoughts on “Snapshot

  1. Why is it people need to ‘Blame someone’ for things that go wrong. This was perhaps the one really bad trait of Tigr’s. He was always searching for the point of ‘Blame’ and always fearing being it. It was a massive task to get him to try and see that sometimes things just are.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I have a tattoo of Johnny Cash. My grandmother loved him, but I think of my grandfather. This video ‘hurt’ just blew me away when I watched it. I had to write a poem. The movie ‘Walk the Line’ with Joaquin Phoenix and Reese Witherspoon is one to watch. Jx

    Like

Leave a Reply

