Everything Something Nothing

no surprises

Whatever!

this easy life
wasn’t meant to be
this hard

love is nothing
when we both walked out
& said goodbye
to everything

enough is enough;
I’m tired
& worn out

no more heart ache
no more little white lies
no more heart break
bro – ken
promises 

resignation is resentment
gone underground
where holding on
to more of the same old
means never seeing the light

never moving on to something
stuck in the past
where everything was clear
understanding what was in my face

if you were happy
I didn’t know
too many bad times
confused with sad times
good times were always somewhere else
with someone else
& everyone says
“whats the point –
life’s way too short”

*

wind pipes
more vocal than the air we breathe
sigh
in heavy heaves
& waves
wash over me

© Copyright 2010 Jodine Derena Butler.  All Rights Reserved

13 thoughts on “Everything Something Nothing

  1. Oh! Your poetry is packed with emotion and maybe I slipped into a generalization – I don’t know what or who but was looking to encourage the view forward not a retrospective seen in the rear vision mirror!! Lol Mx

    Liked by 1 person

    • Yes you did. My poetry is an accumulation over years and are not necessarily relevant to the here and now. This website is only a few years old but some poems were written in the early-mid 90’s. Jx

      Like

      • Hi Jodine
        Your poetry is compelling, emotive and and at times breathtaking! Whether you are soaring with albatrosses, plumbing the depths of despair or being truly provocative you manage to paint such wonderful word pictures. Lol Mx

        Liked by 1 person

        • Thank you Michael so very much! My poetic voice is as varied as my moods and as indicative of the life I lead in all her glory. I am very blessed to be able to express myself through poetry. If I didn’t have my words, I would feel quite bereft. Jx

          Like

Leave a Reply

