Persephone Personified


I am trying to understand this place;
my skin crawls with dissatisfaction.
I pray to an unknown God
while Goddess whisper in my ear,
stoning my heart, burying me in the sands of time
the river Styx shines its mirrored veil
I am sucked beneath ancient waters, blackened
as the night is deep
my soul writhes in despair
I sink
I breathe water while my spirit swears
Hades dark and foreboding bearing gifts like fruit
I recognise him and defend

I am weary
for God has forsaken me
I cry out in anger throwing my fist
I am but a child, small and snivelling
Persephone personified
I am reborn, again and again and again
dying each time
if life has meaning then I am blind
for I see no reason
where are you Demeter?
Mother!
I have no mother
I close my eyes and weep but do not pray

*

my soul surrenders
the Fates weave their ancient threads
I am suckling at her breast, at last
I am dead
I am dead
I am dead

 

© 2007 Jodine Derena Butler.  All Rights Reserved.

2 thoughts on “Persephone Personified

Leave a Reply

