Carpenters Tale

My memory recalls
a time in the sunshine
at Christmas
those many years ago –
running and firing
the pistol drenched
us in tears
it was yellow
and red
like the times I bleed
like the time before that time
I thought I was dying
you remember laughter?
it comes and goes now
like a nervous leaf in Autumn
long after Summer
on the horizon
in the blue ute
down Tamaki Drive;
music loud
me singing a heart
shaped note in tune
I hoped
you’re bright Red tool
box taking pride
of place in the back seat
may as well.
You fell over me
warning you alarm bells
would soon wake you
for work
remember?

© Copyright 2008 Jodine Derena Butler.  All Rights Reserved

2 thoughts on “Carpenters Tale

  1. jodine… that’s awesome… you wouldn’t even have to pressure me into saying that… as soon as i google “ute” i’m sure it’ll be even better 😉
    have i mentioned that you’re awesome?

    Like

    • Thanks and yes you have mentioned that I am awesome… and I am… but then you already know that. Have you ever wondered about where the back seat is in a ute? Jx

      Like

Leave a Reply

